Aromatic

I don’t cook as much as I would like. Most of the times I am too lazy to cook. But if it’s for someone else or for the family, then I am all up for it because I do love seeing other people enjoy a dish that I cooked.

And one thing I love about cooking is the aromatic blend of herbs and spices. Being Southeast Asian, I am a fan of all kinds of herbs and spices. Cinnamon, cardamom, cloves and even fresh curry leaves.. They will turn your kitchen into an aromatic garden. Happy food. Happy you. That’s what spices do.

The aroma not only adds flavor and depth but also it gives a little bit of personality to a dish. I am no chef. But I know how the right combinations of herbs and spices in a dish can evoke your senses and appetite for food.  The minute my mom starts cooking something with herbs and spices, the aroma builds and increase my appetite. And, I have never been disappointed with her delicious dishes.

photo-1473090731544-e0402eb455de

Just like in cooking, the aroma of burning candles or lighting incense, too, make me happy. They are highly therapeutic and immediately take me to the happy place or to my comfort zone. I guess, that’s why temple are so calm and peaceful.

stocksnap_mcw8ynwo0d

Cinnamon is my most favorite fragrant. I love anything cinnamon. Cinnamon tea, cinnamon bun (YUMMM!), cinnamon in curries. The aroma of cinnamon candles! Oh.my.god. So refreshing and rejuvenating. Lavender is also highly aromatic, at least for me. I love lavender candles. They just put me in the stress-free zone in seconds.

 

In response to the daily prompt: Aromatic

6 thoughts on “Aromatic

Leave a Reply

