Being a Teacher

Last week kinda sucked because I was down with s terrible cold. But, here’s something good which I was waiting to talk about once I recover from the cold.

img_20161015_5

I was showered with goods, keepsakes and sweet handwritten notes from my students and parents on the teacher’s day. I certainly appreciate their thoughts and the loving and kind gestures they did to celebrate what I do inside the classroom. But, the material gifts are not the good thing about being a teacher. I am glad I choose to be a teacher. It’s a rewarding profession and I don’t mean it because of the gifts or the pay. Teaching is rewarding and fulfilling. Here’s why.

The best part of being a teacher is knowing that I have the ability to transform lives with education. The best feeling is knowing that you can inspire, guide and help them become the best person they could be. The best thing is teaching in the classroom and learning with the kids–and also learning from them. It’s like you help them grow and, in different ways the students help you grow as well. The experience is one of a kind that I don’t think I would be able to experience if I were to do a 9-5 job behind a desk. I’m not saying that other jobs are not great. I’m saying that personally, I wouldn’t enjoy it as much as I enjoy teaching. Teaching is the career that makes me happy. It’s the right job for ME. I come home after a long day at work with a tired,but, happy face. I keep looking for new ways to improve myself as a teacher so I can provide my students with the best learning experience. I don’t think I would worry myself over some students if I didn’t really have a passion for teaching. The few years of being a teacher has completely transformed my life. I’ve gained something and it’s not just the gifts.

Being able to deliver and facilitate education in any kind of form or way, however big or small, is truly amazing. So, shout out to all the wonderful teachers around the world. I remember hearing about a teacher who sacrificed her life to protect her first grade students. That is just one story of thousands of untold stories about selfless teachers.

I believe in the power of education. I believe that education makes better citizens and that it helps a nation grow. I believe that education transform and empower lives. Currently, the literacy rate of Sri Lanka is at 92.63% which is above average by world and regional standards. But, I know there are thousands of little kids who are not getting the education that they deserve. I know there are thousands of young masterminds waiting to be trained, waiting to be educated and waiting to be given the fundamental human rights for educational opportunities. I know there are so many kids who would love to be schooled and experience learning. As a teacher, I hope the government and authorities of Sri Lanka implements practical steps to improve the overall education system so every kid would receive proper education. I hope more teachers voice their opinions and come forward to enhance the learning experience of Sri Lankan kids in the future.

On a final note, thank you for all the students for the love and affection you are giving me. Thank you for all the wonderful, sweet handwritten notes that you made for me. You guys inspire me to be a better teacher than I was today.

Also, I am thankful for the teachers that helped me get to where I am today. You are truly wonderful. Thank you for guiding, inspiring and teaching me. I am a teacher today because of you and I am thankful that I get to play the same role as you. Now I know how difficult it is. Now I know what it likes to handle a handful of kids. But, I also know how rewarding it is. I am 28 and hasn’t achieved everything in life. But, I have around 200 students who calls me “teacher”. I think that is wonderful enough.

One thought on “Being a Teacher

Leave a Reply

