Companion

We spend half of our lives trying to find someone who would support us, stay with us through thick and thin and love us unconditionally. We all have an idea of the perfect companion but very rarely meet that companion in real life.

Is there any better companion for us than our own ‘selves’? Why do we sometimes cling to the idea of another companion, when we have got ourselves? Why don’t we learn to enjoy our own company without feeling the need of another human being?

No doubt. The best companion for me would be myself. Don’t get me wrong. I, too, have the idea of the perfect companion for myself and I haven’t found that person yet.I am pretty sure that person doesn’t exist. Like everyone else, I, too, deeply desire a meaningful companionship with mutual understanding and intellect. But, it’s hard to find something as beautiful and as terrific as a matching companion.

So for now, I am absolutely fine with my own company.

In response to the daily prompt: Companion

4 thoughts on “Companion

  1. I agree that our greatest companion is ourselves. If we are happy with who we are, and realize we do not need to be in a relationship. Only then will we be able to find a partner. I do find pets to be a nice companion though as well. Beautiful post.

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by and commenting! I truly believe that if we learn to enjoy a little solutitude, it helps us build more meaningful and healthy relationships with another. Yes! Pets do make cute and great companions! I can’t wait to have one when I have my own place. Thanks again for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

