A Thank You Note to Self

Today’s daily prompt is: Toot Your Horn

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

1871cd8e7217b9521ed9405db3bdc1de

It’s all about tooting my horn today. Why not?! Hear me out.

We all doubt ourselves. We all blame ourselves for every situation that go wrong. We underestimate ourselves so much till we are wise enough to know that sometimes all you need to survive the battles of life is a little bit of self-love. It’s still not an easy process. Sometimes, to survive the long endless nights all you need is yourself and no one else. After all those many many years of beating myself up for every little thing that went wrong, it’s now time to give myself a break and show some self-appreciation.

large (10)Because of my tendency to look at the bright side and be optimistic, I have survived and lived through even the most difficult situations . Even in the challenging times, I like to be hopeful and positive which essentially helps me to focus my energy on the good things. When life hasn’t been easy and everyone keep overwhelming me with what they think I should do, my positivity has been immensely uplifting for me to keep my head high and keep trying. Dwelling on negativity drains your energy and diminishes your hopes. I believe being able to manifest positive thoughts can make a big difference in one’s life.

I don’t mean to sound like I’m a tough cookie. I am not a tough person, I am quite the opposite. A sad movie ending would easily get me teary eyed. Frankly though, Being positive about things help me survive tough situations in life. Otherwise, all the heartbreaks in life, every painful, mistumblr_mz7sw1xON91rihc3lo1_1280erable experience I have ever had would have made me such a different person by now and that person would be filled with so much hatred. But I faced those situations with a little positivity and it helped me pass those exhausting phases in life.

So my favourite thing about myself is my ability to look at the bright side without letting the world get the best of me. Even when things are bit too rough, I am still able to smile and get on with life thanks to myself without losing my compassion.

Lastly, from what I have learned, here’s little piece of advice. Look at how far you’ve come in life. Go back in time and count how many long endless nights you’ve survived. Remind yourself of the most painful encounters with people in the past, the moments you thought would kill you instantly, did they? No. Remind yourself of how awesome you are; everyday. Because here you are; alive and stronger than ever. You’ve made progress in so many ways. And I hope you are able to find more than one thing that you love about yourself because believe me, you will.

 

11 thoughts on “A Thank You Note to Self

  1. This is beautifully written! I am the same way. I have been through some of the darkest, ugliest times, but I refuse to see my life as anything but glorious! It’s not about how many times we fall, but about how we pick ourselves up and keep on moving! I especially like what you said about seeming like a tough cookie, but still sensitive and compassionate. I TOTALLY get that!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jess! When we count our blessings instead of dwelling in misery, life becomes so much brighter and enjoyable. 🙂 I learned it the hard way but, now I am able to see the beauty in everything. But, what’s funny is that sometimes people think I’m irresponsible when I don’t worry over trivial things. 🙂 And, yes, one thing I’ve learned is not to lose my compassion just because life’s been hard on me. 🙂

      Like

      1. I have the same issue. I have been called naïve, or childlike, because I don’t stress out over things, but stressing out is NEVER going to change anything. Picking myself up, dusting myself off, and starting over is the best way.

        Like

  2. This is gonna sound weird, but we’re so much alike!!! And I’m only surprised because I thought I was unique :))) Just kidding, I know I’m still unique. But it’s just so cool to meet someone so similar to me and to read such a beautiful description about our character. While reading, I was thinking: “yes, we are the best!” But then again, I also have a little bit of a pride problem, I’ve been told, so maybe that’s where we’re different.
    Bottom line – I love the way you write, I’m glad I found your blog and we are awesome! 😉

    Like

    1. We all are unique but sometimes we do have similarities with others. Don’t we? I do carry some (a healthy amount of) pride in me as well so maybe we are similar in that way too. 🙂 I am glad you enjoy my writing. At the end of the day, it makes me happy hearing from people who find my writing to be something they can enjoy. Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It takes some time for all of us to realize it. Knowing how to love yourself and know your self worth is one of the major part of self growth. 🙂 I am even still in the beginning and have a long way to go. But I know we’ll get there. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

