Magic of Music

Today’s daily prompt is : Papa Loves Mambo

What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

headphones_music_backgrounds_577672_by_josueperez79-d63esfx

“I like beautiful melodies telling me terrible things.”
― Tom Waits

Before I talk about the music I was exposed to as a kid, let me share a little about the music that I prefer now. Since I am originally from Sri Lanka, I listen to a variety of music. A mix up of languages like English, Sinhalese and Hindi (Bollywood) are mostly what I listen to on a regular basis. It is impossible for me to go to bed without listening so some music. Music is part of my lifestyle and one powerful element that provides me the energy. Music motivates me and change me in a certain way. I cannot survive a day without music. 

large

Since I mostly speak English more than Sinhalese, all of my music tends to be western. However, I occasionally listen to Sinhalese or Hindi tracks as well. Part of the reason why I no longer listen to English more than Sinhalese is the downgrade in Sinhalese music industry in the recent years. I still like old Sinhalese music and artists who produced great music. Lately, the younger artists who are coming into the industry basically knows nothing about what lyrics can do and, some just don’t even know what music is to begin with! But, that is for another post.

Now back to the past.

When I was a kid, my father always played English songs on the radio and I would listen attentively. As a result, I grew up liking English music better and, I learned the words piece by piece that it unconsciously developed my curiosity to listen to more English music. He listened to the radio all the time which he still does now. Whenever a song came up on the radio, he would say, “Do you know the artist of this one?”. He would then proceed to tell me who is singing the song and tell me how good or bad they are. Now remember when I was a kid, it was the 90’s. Back then music was pretty amazing! Radios always played 80’s music and I grew up listening to great artists who were—and are still—legends. I got the chance to listen to some artists who were little known for their amazing talents and work in the music industry.

025f6d4d-04e4-4178-9715-5f5903439103I listen to many different genres of English music and, 98% of the time my preference depends on my mood. My playlist varies according to the place I am at or what task I’m trying to accomplish. If I am traveling or commuting to work, my playlist will mostly include catchy tunes which gives me positive vibes and keep me happy and stress free. If it’s a rainy day and I am relaxing at home, then I will play classic rock or alternative. If it’s Friday night, then I am all about jamming to some Hip Hop and Dance songs! You get the picture. Don’t you?

image-1Some of my favorite bands are Arctic Monkeys, Maroon 5, The Smiths, Simple Plan, All Time Low, The Smashing Pumpkins, The Calling and The Scorpions. I frequently listen to individual artists like Enrique, Beyonce, Joni Mitchell, Dido, Pink and many many others as well. You see how my music taste is all over the place?

If I don’t like particular lyrics or the melodies of a song then regardless of its genre, I wouldn’t want to hear that song again. I don’t like music with shitty lyrics. The words of a song are as powerful as the voice of the singer and how he or she brings those words into life. The magic of music is in the lyrics, the voice and the instruments that are used to create the melody and the rhythm. Together they make a powerful combination and touch thousands of souls. As much as I love lyrics, I love songs with a sick beat too—even if the words are boring and irrelevant. (Oops am I getting carried away too much with this post?) Honestly, music can make or break my mood. Some songs get me so emotional while dance tunes get me straight to the dance floor! Mhhhmm!

 

One thought on “Magic of Music

Leave a Reply

