Being in Control.

Today’s daily prompt is: Helpless

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

Not sure exactly when I last felt helpless, but I’m sure it was a long time ago. I like being in control about the things I can control and usually have a neutral, open-minded view on everything else that is beyond my control. I wouldn’t say I am a 100% strong person at all but I make sure not to put myself in situations where I’d feel helpless and lost.

You cannot let your feelings take control of your attitude towards life. It does not promote a healthy growth of your own individuality. Similarly, you cannot let others write your story for you. It’s yours and you should be able to write it or rewrite it as you please. Being open-minded about what you can control and what you can’t is crucial to manage your independence and not be deprived of strength that is needed to be self-sufficient. Strength builds character and helps you make wise decisions for yourself. Being strong helps you avoid negative impact on your life. You cannot let yourself be powerless and over dependent on others to take the most important decisions for you. Although, sometimes, being helpless does not mean you’re weak necessarily; it just means that you’re unable to control the situation you’re in. In which case, I would choose to let go.

Personally, I just cannot let others make decisions for me. I want to be the writer of my story whether it’ll be a bestseller or an unpublished dull poem. So I try my best not to put myself in situations and avoid such scenarios where I’ll be completely helpless.

Leave a Reply

