Shoulda Woulda Coulda

Today’s Daily Prompt : Shoulda Woulda Coulda

Tell us about something you know you should do . . . but don’t.

I should probably go to bed at a reasonable hour…said no night owl ever.

Getting a good night’s sleep hasn’t been my main focus lately and, thus, my health goals are not really being met in a way. (Now that I think of it, I am mad at myself) When ‘being healthy’ becomes a no 1 priority, you adopt good habits and follow them religiously. As a responsible grown-up, I am fully aware that I should try to go to bed early every night for my own good to reduce any health issues; yet, I don’t. My sleeping schedule is basically messed up.

There is no sleeping schedule..

There is no schedule; there’s no night… Night is like a day time for me.

Nights always feel like my Sundays; free and relaxing.

I’m as energetic at night as I’d be on a busy Monday. I can stay up doing things and forget that the time is ticking and that the sun will be up soon. My brain functions speed up and operate more efficiently. I could literally not feel the need to sleep or rest.

I’d be so adsorbed by the tranquility of the night that I’d have no sense of the rapid moving of time. If I am not drained from work or working out, I can stay up as late as I want even without a cup of coffee. In fact, though I knew I had to wake up at 6am for work today, I stayed up last night sacrificing my goodnight’s sleep. “Who cares?” I thought. I read a book, had a great conversation with a couple of friends abroad and I finally went to bed around 3am(ish). The result? Obviously, waking up at 6am was absolutely torture today yet I didn’t regret staying up all night at all.

I don’t know what’s with me and the night or how I can’t go to bed early and get plenty of sleep like other normal people do. But I do know that I should change my sleeping schedule soon or else will suffer from serious health issues as poor sleep often leads to many health and mental issues.

Tomorrow…maybe.

*Looks at the clock*

“Oh it’s only 11.48pm.”

*Opens the computer and watches Netflix endlessly*

Leave a Reply

