The Power of Music

Today’s daily prompt: Always something there to remind me.

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

tumblr_static_5akp82lxpg8w8ks084gwgk80s

Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination
and life to everything.”
– Plato

Ah, what a brilliant prompt to write about today! Music!!

Music moves me so much that no matter where I am, the songs I listen to will have an effect upon my moods and expressions. The powerful lyrics of a song or even the harmonious way an artist sings a song can absolutely touch a person’s heart, mind and their soul. When the music is too relatable and the lyrics speak to you, those powerful sensational feelings will bring you back special memories—good or bad. It will leave you feeling happy or heavy and emotional. Regardless of how long ago the memory occurred, the kind of songs that touches your soul and the deepest part of your heart will always take you to that past and keep your mind locked even after the song is over. Music is as powerful as that. My most favorite songs are the ones that moves me in such a way to bring me back old memories—both good and the bad—and replay them for me.

However, my music taste is all over the place. I listen to all kinds of music in different languages. Some songs I listen to aren’t even in English or my mother tongue, Sinhalese so I don’t exactly know what the lyrics mean, but I would listen to them anyway because of the way the song makes me feel. Many times, what connects us to music is the way we feel about the lyrics or the strange way how it would remind us of something beautiful, something sweet or someone that we can’t exactly recall yet remember. Those songs are very special to you that no matter how frequently you hear it, you will still love them after years and years and will always hold dear to them. When those songs comes up on the radio or randomly hear it out of nowhere, you automatically stop everything you are doing and your mind shifts your thoughts and directs them to a special person, a place or a memory happened in the past. That’s the power of music.

My most favorite songs that move me in such a powerful way and give me flashbacks of memories are,

(I Just) Died in Your Arms by Cutting  Crew

Waiting for a star to fall by Boy Meets Girl

Keise Mujhe from the Hindi movie Gajini

Wherever You Go by The Calling

Both Sides Now by Joni Mitchell

There is a Light that Never Goes Out by The Smiths

 

Bonus credits :

What Makes You Different by Backstreet Boys

Sent from Heaven by Keisha Cole

Summer of 69 by Bryan Adams

Tere Bina from the Hindi movie Guru

There is no greater feeling than your soul being found in between the lines of song lyrics or through the melodious voice of a singer and going back in time to the most special memories of your past even if you don’t really want to.

Music is the soundtrack to every good and bad time we will ever have.

– Alex Gaskarth (All Time Low)

 

 

Leave a Reply

