Leave a Legacy Worth Sharing

The daily prompt for today is : Don’t You Forget About Me

Imagine yourself at the end of your life. What sort of legacy will you leave? Describe the lasting effect you want to have on the world, after you’re gone.

*This post might get too philosophical.

bigstock-legacy-dictionary-definition-17668370

The only lasting effect that I want to leave on the world is some inspiration to all the people around me. I want to inspire the people, the children and the society around me to live a meaningful life. My purpose in life is not too complicated; it is to set a worthy, righteous example for others.

Most people in the society I live in are running after a materialistic life because they are overly obsessed with money and material possessions that they consider ‘wealth’ and are unbelievably controlled by these things. They are forced to live complicated and deeply unhappy lives. I do like to acquire certain things in life too. Someday I want to buy my own house and furnish it with my favorite pieces of furniture. But I don’t and wouldn’t consider them to be my ultimate wealth. The property I own, the possessions I had won’t be my wealth or legacy. My wealth and legacy would be the simple life that I am trying to lead, the good deeds that I have done for the world I live in and the little inspiration comes from all that. My legacy will be the knowledge that I offer to kids through my teachings which someday they will make use of for the betterment of themselves and the world. As a teacher, my only legacy will be the education, wisdom and knowledge that I offer and pass on to the lovely kids who will someday become the future of the country and the planet. My effort towards a small change doesn’t have to be broadcasted on the local news channels or acknowledged on the front page of newspapers, but hopefully appreciated and followed by the children I teach.

When I am at the end of my life, I will be able look back and be truly happy knowing that I made an effort to make a world a better place. I do not need fame or fortune to validate the effort I make because I am truly happy doing what I do. I expect nothing but peacefulness. Happiness is my reward.

I may not live to see how the kids I teach make a better future for themselves and the world, but the legacy of me will forever be alive through the inspiration that I have left for them through my living and teaching. And that’ll be my only legacy.

Leave a Reply

