L.O.V.E

In response to the Daily Prompt : I Want to Know What Love Is

We each have many types of love relationships — parents, children, spouses, friends. And they’re not always with people; you may love an animal, or a place. Is there a single idea or definition that runs through all the varieties of “love”?

 

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaag

Honestly, too tired to write today. And, love? I’m sure as heck don’t have much to write about. So here’s a poem that I wrote way long ago when I thought I was in love.

 

Waiting Love

 

Six years almost gone, but as it seems,

It was yesterday that you left….

Rain falls from the sky, drop by drop

And my love overflows for you everyday…..

My love, I consoled my mind, but I forgot to dream,

I spent my long endless nights,

Talking about you secretly with the stars…

And I wrote your name on the sky under the moon light…

When sun shimmers on these flowers,

I see them dancing with a smile.

I could’ve dance with them too,

If you were here for awhile….

Too many winters and summers are gone,

To find the answers for your whereabouts….

Did you fall for someone else or are you still alone?

I hope you will come back as the same….

The wind tells me nothing…

I wonder if you forgot your way home…

Ask tweeting birds for where I am.

And don’t waste your time while you roam…

Dhanu Randi

Note: This poem was written more than 7 years ago down the line. It was published in the Sunday Observer Magazine (Sri Lanka), but I don’t remember the exact published date. This was also featured in the Northeast Community College’s English Department literary magazine ‘VOICES OUT OF NOWHERE’ in 2009 (USA).

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.



 

And, this is my favorite ever (bible) quote about love.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7New International Version (NIV)

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.aaaaaaaaaaaaaaah

2 thoughts on “L.O.V.E

Leave a Reply

