The Real Educators

In response to the Daily Prompt : We Can Be Taught!

What makes a teacher great?

The ability to inspire the students and make learning an able process even for the slowest learner in a cheerful way is what makes a great teacher.

Teaching takes a great deal of patience and empathy towards the learners. Learning, on the other hand, can be dreadful and frustrating for many students because their teachers are often impatient with them yet not willing to simplify the learning process for better understanding. It can be frustrating for both parties.

Regardless of the students’ attitude toward learning, being able to teach a particular subject, language or skill is only possible when you are patient with your learners. Any teacher in the world can be highly qualified in their field, have all the licensure they need to teach, but all those qualified teachers may not be great educators. They might not be considerate or kind enough with the students during the learning process which makes the students lose the interest and motivation in learning. Just because you give birth to kids doesn’t make you a good parent. It’s how you influence them, guide them and show them the right path. It takes patience to help them grow righteously. And, being Education_Entrepreneursa parent has been proved to be difficult over the decades. Being a teacher is twice as difficult, because you are influencing a class full of kids who comes from all walks of life. That is why teaching takes a lot of patience and compassion.

When you are an understanding and accommodating teacher in the classroom, your learners will be able to trust you and thus change their attitude toward the learning process. To encourage the students to change their attitude, you must be patient with them because it will not be an overnight task or process. You have to establish the foundation for the students to learn comfortably and allow them to question their own thinking and understanding so they can better themselves progressively. The teachers who stick to their principles and are able to change the students’ mindset, thinking and behavior in such an inspiring way, are the real teachers; and a great teacher will always inspire the learners inside and outside of the classroom just as equally.

Thank you for all the great teachers who once were patient with this slow learner right here!

12 thoughts on “The Real Educators

  1. I sooooo completely agree with you! I’ve struggled through some hard times in my early years of school because of some educators who didn’t have patience, especially when I had only just migrated from a different country where English wasn’t dominant oof

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can understand where you come from, Andy. I’ve been in the same place once. I, myself, am not a native English speaker, but I had an interest in it. So with the help of right teachers, my interest grew and I was motivated to learn it. That is why I became better at even without my mother tongue being a different language. For other subjects, however, I was rather weak in learning and picking them up because I wasn’t motivated at first when I was really young. If it makes you feel any better, I wish I had a good instructor for some subjects because I nearly failed them in some grades! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t express how much I love this article. Loved every line but I picked up one which I really really loved ” Any teacher in the world can be highly qualified in their field, have all the licensure they need to teach, but all those qualified teachers may not be great educators”. Try giving that piece of advice to my manager, he doesn’t understand that part of it!
    🙂 🙂 Loved it Dhanu 🙂 Really did. Great work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed reading it as much I enjoyed writing it. Glad to hear the acknowledgment of a fellow teacher on this. 🙂 I wasn’t sure if people would take it in the wrong way because there can be other teachers reading this post and they might take it personally. So I’d like to point out that I didn’t mean it in a wrong way. 🙂 Anyway, I would try to convince your manager, just get him into one of my classes. 😀

      Like

      1. 🙂 probably i’d like to learn a couple of things from you too. Teacher 2 Teacher 🙂 U know something, if ever life gives me the opportunity to meet, I would surely look forward to it. We are probably on the same page with the the teaching aspect 🙂

        Like

      1. Good that you responded to the post ..!!
        We were lucky to read this 😀 beautifully written..!!
        On a more serious note, the article spoke for itself, and thanks for writing it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

