Finding the Purpose in Life

Rowing_by_hera42

Each beginning of a new year may seem very promising at first but you can’t predict how a year would turn out until you are near or at the ending of it. The first 2 months of 2015 have been full of myriad events and went rather abruptly for me. But, overall, it’s been a good year so far. My work has been keeping me rather busy—which, I suppose, is sometimes a good thing—and my studies for the TKT exam consumed a lot of my time that I wasn’t working. I am yet to get my results as to how well I did at the exam, so hopefully they will be good because I did my best. Once the results come, I will be a TKT qualified teacher which is a good achievement professionally. My initial plan during the last year was to find a teaching job abroad and experience life in different context(s) in a new place or a country after my exam results has come. Since my results haven’t come through yet, I can’t proceed and apply for any jobs let alone get started with the whole visa procedure. If you have read some of my posts, you would know by now that I love to travel and explore. So, taking a teaching internship abroad would be a great experience for me because I would be exposed to a new culture, lifestyle, places that I haven’t been to and meeting new people.

In the mean time, I’ve lately been trying to find some answers for a few important self-reflecting questions because ultimately, I want to be able to figure out what I want to do in my life, where I want to be and why I am here and to set up and achieve new personal goals continuously. Call it a phase if you must, but I think these kinds of stages in life where you somewhat question yourself about the path or in which direction you should walk, are truly essential for personal growth and these phases might, in fact, help you develop or enhance yourself for the better. plant3Any self-reflection process would never be of waste because it is important to have a purpose in life to grow for each of us. Every individual person brings something unique in to the world with them when they are born and has something to give to the universe. Finding out what that is helps each person to not only achieve their full potential but also to lead a fulfilling life with peace in their heart.

I’ve always wanted to learn ways to better myself: professionally, mentally, physically and spiritually. I would stop the process whenever I was unmotivated, distracted or overwhelmed with obstacles in life but I always started again and continued it once I’m ready. We all go through endless encounters, changes in life and it is very important to try to be the best person that we can be. It just takes some significant amount of your effort, dedication, life-planning and self reflection. So, my goal of 2015 was to first get into the habit of better planning and staying organized and another goal was to self-reflect whenever needed and find my purpose in life. Consequently, I have been trying to stay organized and be well-aware of my own self. I’ve been questioning myself what I want to do and have already come up with a few questions that would ultimately help me get to the answers that I need. The nice thing is, I have already figured out the career aspect in my life or what I want to pursue as a carrier. Phew! However, it took me few years, some mishaps and setbacks along the way. As long as you don’t let those obstacles in life to stop you from learning and growing, you’re in the right path.

I have learned that I never want to stop teaching. It makes me really happy to mentor kids or just about anyone that may need my help in anyway. I truly am happy with my job and I wouldn’t give it up for the world. I don’t make a lot of money and at the end of each year, my bank account may not grow parallel with myself as I would like it to be, but that doesn’t upset me at all. I know some of the people’s biggest concern in life is money and I can’t say that it’s not the way it’s supposed to be because I don’t know their story. I don’t know if that person is working so hard just so they could pay off their debts or to save their loved one(s) from cancer. I have no right to conclude that you shouldn’t work so hard just to earn money. Because, sometimes you just have to. For me, the income I make from a job doesn’t make me content if I’m truly not enjoying it. 1871cd8e7217b9521ed9405db3bdc1deSo, I am glad that teaching makes me happy and I might end up with an average or almost penniless bank account someday, but I don’t regret being a teacher at all. Because at the end of the day I know that I have touched the lives of my students and given them a pint of my knowledge to succeed in their life. As for the money, I am financially able to support myself, my parents and two young siblings as well in so many different ways so I don’t think I am a failure just because I don’t have a fat bank account. (I do, however, plan to set up personal saving goals and achieve them by the end of 2015 along with my other goals) Since I’ve figured my career aspect in life as for the time being, I do all I can to be a better teacher, mentor for my students. I have come up with certain goals to reach my professional potential as a teacher, guider, mentor. That is why I personally find self reflection process very crucial for my growth because it reflects on my students’ learning and growth as well. Currently, I am an English teacher and I truly enjoy that but I eventually want to go into counseling someday.

As for the other aspects in life, I am yet to figure out a lot of answers. My outlet for self-reflecting thoughts and process is my personal planner but I hope to keep track of everything on my blog as well. I hope the readers whoever enjoys my blog wouldn’t mind seeing these posts in the future.

I am taking my own time with the process and been cultivating many self-reflecting thoughts. I’ve been researching as to how and what better ways are there to find the purpose in life. Luckily, I’ve stumbled upon a lot of helpful resources and if anyone need or interested please let me know in the comments and I would gladly share them with you.

What is your purpose in life?

Do you think it is important to self-reflect every now and then?

If you only had one year to live, what would you want to do with your life?

Please share your thoughts on this with me. 🙂

 

One thought on “Finding the Purpose in Life

  1. Very important to self reflect once in a while…well written. I see that you are a very passionate teacher, you love what you do. Great, so nice to meet like minded people 🙂 Good going!

    Like

Leave a Reply

