The Irritating Question(s)

In response to Daily Prompt’s: Plead the Fifth

What question do you hate to be asked? Why?

I had to spend a long time thoroughly questioning myself to find that which question I hate to be asked and at first I couldn’t think of any question that would irritate me. But I was wrong. There is one question I hate being asked.

I hate being asked, “Are you a vegetarian?”

There you go daily prompt. Don’t ever ask me if I am a vegetarian in one of your prompts and we are good.

I don’t mind people who don’t know me at all asking me whether or not I am a vegetarian. That is completely understandable and I know they are trying to get to know me better. But, what annoys me is when the people who know me very well choose to ask me this question and unbelievably, I often get bombard with this question at or—during—family parties, weddings by my relatives or friends. So I usually don’t lose my calm and just let it go. I don’t mind the question that much but what bothers me the most is that the way and the tone people use to ask this question; in which case, I have to try my best to not lose my temper. They already know it’s my personal choice to be a vegetarian yet they keep interrogating me for reasons because my choice doesn’t match theirs. I hate having to explain why I like something over the other because it doesn’t matter to people why I like a certain thing or has a different food style than them. Another thing is, this question come in many different forms.

“You don’t eat any meat?!”

“Do you eat fish?”

“Have you ever tried ………?”

“How can you not eat meat?”

“Why do you like this and that…..?”

blah blah blah

It’s 2015 and I can eat whatever I like and pleases my taste buds. I don’t get why some humans would even think that they can go around questioning other people if they are carnivores or omnivores! It isn’t always acceptable, dude.

8 thoughts on “The Irritating Question(s)

  1. Well, I certainly understand. I have it somewhat worse. I am a vegan. People, most people, are not even certain what the difference between a vegan and a vegetarian is. I get the “You’re vegetarian, right? No, that’s right, you’re vegan…so can you eat…?”
    I changed from usual to vegan in July 2014 due to health reasons. I had a stroke in 2010 and had bad cholesterol, blood pressure, blood sugar, and was over weight( still am, but better). My research told me that the medical field tries to “maintain” your health; I wanted to get “better”. So, vegan won out after a lot of research and reading a book. Now, all of it is going down and I feel better. Best of all, I am used to saying “no” to ice cream and pizza…

    Like

    1. I am sure many people have it worse because I think a lot of people are not fully aware of what vegetarians or vegan even means. People can be vegan or vegtarians for various reasons, some which can be personal reasons. Becoming aware is something else but questioning someone for their food style is not acceptable or decent. It can be even offending for some people. When someone is trying to become aware, then I definetely don’t mind explaining anything to them but when someone is being ignorant, I just don’t like to be bothered. You know?

      And, it’s certainly good that you’re adjusting to a better, healthy lifestyle. It’s always better to be healthy. I still can’t just say no to pizza and ice-cream, yet. 😦

      Like

  2. How about this question… I get this often ‘How are you’? I mean like seriously….you really don’t want to know anything, its just another question, a conversation starter. I tried to use the same question on a lady once and she actually wanted to tell me how she was…she went something like this “I am not well son, its been 6 weeks now I cannot….” and she went on and on and on. OMG! I had to hear her out.. I asked the question after all :p 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

