Lonely.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Cut Off.”

Cut Off

When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?

Never?

Alright. You want me to be honest? Okay.

Now let me think.. When was the last time I felt really, truly lonely…?

The person you think of when you're in front of the ocean is the person you really love.
The person you think of when you’re in front of the ocean is the person you really love.

This day….

A photo is worth a thousand words. So I’m sure it says it all. But, I want to add a few more words. It was the family vacation last December. We went to this beautiful beach just a few hours away from the city where I live.

The house we were renting for the weekend was like a beach house and the view I woke up to was one of the most peaceful things ever. The ocean in the morning.. The ocean in the evening. It was breathtaking. If you have experienced a night falling asleep to the sound of waves breaking, then you, my dear, knows how amazing it is. I don’t believe there’s anything peaceful than looking at the horizon where sky touches the ocean. I am a person who loves beaches. I love spending time on the beach and maybe reading a book or writing something or just enjoying the sound of waves breaking.

One of the days I was on holiday, I took a stroll with my sister and we walked along the beach when my family was drinking tea inside. I was in love with the ocean’s view and the whole peacefulness so I walked along the beach away from my sister ,watching how the waves break on the shore and I had no idea my sister had taken pictures of me walking alone. (But I absolutely love these shots.) However, I am glad that she could only take pictures of me and not see how I was feeling at the time.

Every step I took made me feel as if I was sinking and since my sister was watching, I couldn’t really cry out aloud. But I had never felt such loneliness in my entire life. I stood up in front of the ocean and for the first time in my 26 years of life, I felt as if it is me against the world. The ocean was magnificent and I wanted to share that beautiful moment with someone. Don’t get me wrong. I can enjoy things by myself. I am a person who is incredibly fond of spending time alone. I find loneliness comforting. But, that day, I stood in front of the ocean and wished I wasn’t alone. Isn’t it ironic that the people you care about can be right next to you (in this case, my sister), yet you could hit the lowest point in your life but they wouldn’t even have a clue?

The vacation was really fun and I enjoyed it a lot but I am not sure if I ever want to stand in front of an ocean and feel lonely, again.

4 thoughts on “Lonely.

  1. “The person you think of when you’re in front of the ocean is the person you really love” I learnt something new today 🙂 I didn’t know that little bit of information. Maybe it is time that I visit the beach side today…its been some time that I have 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

