Home.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “A Plot of Earth.”

A Plot of Earth

You’re given a plot of land and have the financial resources to do what you please. What’s the plan?

A home for me… I would build myself the nice little home that I’ve always longed of having. Sounds selfish and rather thoughtless. Doesn’t it? “A plot of land and more than enough money but you’re only thinking of building a house for yourself?”, People might say. Well, let them be. I want nothing but a little place of my own in this world that I can dwell in. It’s been a dream for all these years. If only I could fulfill it now.

I have had roommates who brought random guys home and used the shower together. Living with parents can be pretty tedious at times as well. I’ve moved more than a dozen times with my parents when I was young. The rooms were always too small or the windows wasn’t rightly placed ( I have a thing for open spaces, scenery and natural light). My parents had their own house that they built right after they were married but then my dad was having financial difficulties and unfortunately, he had to sell the house in the end. I was only about 4 years old so I don’t know how my mother took it. Since then we moved and moved and it took few years till my father was finally able to build another house. I have always wanted to build my own place that I would not have to pay a rent to stay in: place that I wouldn’t have to sign a lease or have to leave after settling in; a place that I would be able to call mine. A home where I could come running to after a long day or a vacation. No matter wherever you go on your vacations, it’s always so nice to finally get home. I love that feeling of coming home—except I’ve always wished it was my own place that I was coming home to and not someone else’s. I want a place of my own where I can pick the colors of my walls (yes, you do get to pick wall colors when you rent a house but this is different okay?). I’ll build it someday.

So if and when I get a plot of land and have all the money that I need, I would build the small house of my dreams. It’s not huge, it’s not fancy in my mind but it makes me look forward to my future with much excitement than for anything else.

3 thoughts on “Home.

Leave a Reply

