Mouths Wide Shut

Daily prompt- September 28th, Mouths Wide Shut:

Are you a picky eater? Share some of your favorite food quirks with us (the more exotic, the better!). Omnivores: what’s the one thing you won’t eat?

 

I was so exhausted and starving. Work always wore me out. As soon as I threw my purse on the bed, I climbed the stairs and entered the kitchen. The dinner is always prepared by 7.30 at our house and it’s my favorite part of the daily routine. Okay, maybe not as much as playing badminton in the evenings.

I opened the fridge and grabbed the chocolate milk. White milk nauseated me so my mom always bought a bottle of chocolate milk for me when she bought milk. I gulped down some and leaned over the stove to see what my mom was cooking. Better be good—

“….IS THAT…?!!,”

I was famished—I really was. But, I felt like my hunger was absorbed out of my body and into the air and had been replaced by a strong aversion.

My mother closed the steaming pot with a lid and pretended she didn’t hear me.

“Ugh, guess I won’t be having dinner today!!”

When does one fully rage the most? When they are on an empty stomach and is being given food that they solemnly refuse to eat. Cruel world! “Chinese takeout it is today then,” I thought. Wouldn’t want to go to bed starving.

“Oh, come on, it’s not that bad! You should give it a try one time and you will actually like it so much that you would always beg me to cook it for every dinner!” My mom assured.

“Nooooo! I would never eat cuttlefish, AGAINNNN! It’s so rubbery and come on, mom! The last time you convinced me to order it, I almost damn threw up on that hotel table!!”

My mother rolled her eyes. She always thought I was stupid to dislike such a yummy dish. Yummy? My foot! More like slippery and gross!!

I was so angry because I was famished and came home hoping for a tasty dinner and my mother is cooking her cuttlefish dish! She shook her head and showed me the eggs on the counter.

Damn, cuttlefish.

Leave a Reply

