Honesty is the Best Policy

Today’s daily prompt is, Handle With Care:

How are you at receiving criticism? Do you prefer that others treat you with kid gloves, or go for brutal honesty?

 

 

criticism2

 

I love receiving all kinds of feedback, on my blog, in particular. It makes my day when someone else takes their precious time to read and comment or like my work. I’m appreciative for all kinds of feedback that I receive.  Only, when and if you’re criticizing my work, be brutal honest with me.

Past forward a few years, I used to keep my work unknown and hidden when I was younger because I didn’t want people to tell me hurtful things about my work or what I wrote. Boy, was I touchy about some things back then. I was afraid of how their take on my work would be, so I just enjoyed doing my own thing, but never shared my work with anyone unless on very rare occasions.

Back to the present.

I am now pretty good at receiving and handling criticism. Because, people have criticized my work, life, personal life, studies, job..and literally everything they could possibly pass their judgment on and their criticism has helped me in any many ways. It has helped me improve and grow. I don’t think I have ever received any kind of hateful criticism though. It doesn’t drive me mad when people criticize me; for I prefer people being honest with me, at any rate. It helps me grow or if not make me thrive for betterment. For another thing, I believe criticism can be useful and essential for a person for their growth and development.

On another note, the kid glove treatment wouldn’t do me any good nor would it help me correct my errors or improve myself any better. I don’t mean to sound like I’m unappreciative when people are being nice. I do appreciate when people are nice. But, being overly nice when you have something else that you want to give voice to would do no good to either person. On the other hand, being brutally honest doesn’t have to cause any hurt to a person. As a woman, and a teacher, I believe there’s a tone and a voice to convey each expression, thought and idea, effectively and properly; the right way to criticize would never include shouting at that person or in their face with hateful words or anything as such.

“To avoid criticism, do nothing, say nothing, and be nothing. “

Elbert Hubbard

Tell me one good thing, a book, a movie, a person that hasn’t ever received criticism in this world. A valid honest criticism with a thoughtful insight to the matter would help the person much more than a mere overnice gesture. So if you receive criticism, then you’re actually doing something in the world.

Being honest and a sensible approach is all it takes for better criticism.

how-to-overcome-criticism

Have a great Wednesday!

9 thoughts on “Honesty is the Best Policy

  1. Very well written dear, being honest and sensible is all what it takes for a better criticism, totally agree with your tone, it doesn’t have to be harsh in nature, doesn’t have to be brutally honest, we do revive the old note ‘honesty is the best policy’, graceful honesty, sympathetic criticism, improve us as human…to better heights, enjoyed reading your thoughts, interestingly poured in this article, Nice post dear 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for you lovely and insightful thoughts.:) I am glad you like and agree with it. Likewise, I agree with your opinions and I believe that destructive criticism is no good to the giver or the receiver. 🙂 Thanks, again!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haven’t found any thing negative so far in whatever I’ve read, You are truly a gifted girl when it comes to English writing. I see a lot of myself in you, in the way you write and most of your ways of thinking about different topics. Have I finally come across my female version… OMG!! 🙂 Keep up the good work

    Like

    1. Thank you! And well, I do try to stay away from any possible negativity but if something negative pops up, please bear it with me. haha And I am glad you can relate to what I write or the way I write. 🙂 Thank you for your sweet words.

      Like

      1. to put it in simple words, I get really excited when I read something nice 🙂 reading your posts just didn’t get me smiling once but many times. Hence I am just happy to be on your blog reading through.. 🙂 keep posting, i’ll keep reading and posting feedback 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

