BOOK HAUL!! – BOOK FAIR 2014

BMICH Book Fair- Colombo, Sri Lanka
BMICH Book Fair- Colombo, Sri Lanka

Last week was awesome—but tiring as hell. I didn’t get home until 8 or 9pm, since last Sunday, mostly because of work.

On Wednesday, I went to the international book fair in Colombo which is held annually on the month of September. It is organized by the Book Publishers’ Association of Sri Lanka and is a popular event among all book lovers and aspiring writers/authors all alike. Out of all other happenings, the book fair is my favorite annual event of the year as well. Becauseeee hell, books are to die for!! I would rather read a book than do anything else. Why? I don’t know why. I simply grew up with an immense love for reading.

Anyhow, I spent the entire Wednesday, in between bookshelves and piles of new books with this amazing fresh smell still clinging onto the pages, breathing it, swallowing it and feeling lost in a world of another dimension. I wanted to bring all the books home. Obviously, I couldn’t, because I’m not that rich. Damn it. Nonetheless, at the end of the day, I was as happy as a kid who unwrapped his birthday gifts and found something he loved in each of them as I bought more than 13 books. Most of them were the ones that I was dying to buy because I wanted to read them so bad for a long time. The best thing was every book had at least 40% discount on them and some vintage books(old, used books but hardly used and in good conditions) were priced under one dollar! How freaking awesome right?! There were more than 375 book stalls to choose from and a growing crowd of people. The stalls were packed with people and the parking was full.

Which one to start with?!?!
Which one to start with?!?!

I went again on the Saturday for a second round along with my sister and bought some more books but a lot of good books were already gone from the stalls by then. Overall, I am glad that I got to buy a lot of books that I was dying to read—especially at a discounted rate. Also, I now have enough books to review for few weeks and I already started reading one book and I’m halfway through it. Earlier last month, I also bought The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger and I will soon post my review on the book on here as soon as I am done reading it. So far, I’m loving the book. It’s definitely a good read. So do check it out if you can. I also bought John Green’s Looking for Alaska one month ago and I finished reading it in less than 24 hours but I haven’t done the review on it yet. Again, I loved that book as well. (I’m going to save more details for my review.)

 

 

The books I bought are,

  • Dubliners – James Joyce
  • A Thief of Time – Tony Billerman
  • The Breaker – Minette Walters
  • The Tides of Memory – Sidney Sheldon
  • Death at La Fenice – Donna Leon
  • The Cradle Will Fall – Mary Higgins Clark
  • Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  • An anthology of short stories of great authors of all time – Chandana Mendis (In Sinhalese)
  • Another Day in Paradise – Eddie Little
  • The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
  • Viragaya (Devoid of Passions)  – Martin Wickramasingha (You can’t see the book in the picture because my cousin sister already borrowed it from me.)

 

On the second round I bought,

  • To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  • Highland Fling – Katie Fforde
  • Inferno – Dan Brown
  • What’s new, pussycat? – Alexandra Potter ( My sister bought it for me)
  • Mother – Maxim Gorky
  • Pem Puwathak (A Love Story – Local Short Story Collection) – Karunasena Jayalath

So including The Catcher in the Rye, Stephen King’s two books (Blaze, Duma King) which I haven’t read yet and a few more unread books, I now have more than 20 books to read, enjoy and maybe review for the last few months of 2014! But, it won’t take that long because books are my first priority.

Happy reading, everyone!

2 thoughts on “BOOK HAUL!! – BOOK FAIR 2014

Leave a Reply

