Hand-Me-Downs

Today’s daily prompt is, Hand-Me-Downs:

Clothes and toys, recipes and jokes, advice and prejudice: we all have to handle all sorts of hand-me-downs every day. Tell us about some of the meaningful hand-me-downs in your life.

Hmm, this is a toughie, because I can’t recall a time that I had to handle any hand-me-downs in my life. I am the oldest in the family—the 4th eldest out of my maternal cousins—and I have a younger sister and a brother. I was spoiled to an extent and my parents were financially very well-off when I was young. After me, my sister and my brother were also spoiled and always had almost everything we wanted. But, we were never the type of ungrateful kids or the ones that always wanted every toy they saw or vice versa. We were brought up to be good human beings and looking back, I’m so thankful for the way my parents raised us, truly.

I, my sister and my brother never had to use anything that was formerly used by another. The toys, clothes, books.., everything were brand new. Although, most of my toys were passed on to my sister and then to my brother but my parents always bought new ones for them as well. Even with the certain amount of pampering from our parents, me and my siblings were raised with a sense of appreciation for the things we had in life and we were always taught to be selfless. We always loved sharing and giving because my parents set us a good example for me, my brother and sister through their generosity. My mom and dad would literally give and share most of what we had with others and growing up, we learned from our parents that giving something to others does not only make them feel good but it also satisfies and gives contentment to the giver as well.

Even when I was a teenager, I never remember that I used or had to use any hand-me-downs. My mom was a housewife and my dad was a driver. But, he provided me, my sister, my brother with everything—education, clothes, toys, books, shoes. And, writing this now, I cannot imagine how my dad had supported us all along back then and I’m so so so thankful for both of my parents. My father still does support us in some ways, but now, me and my sister both work and are financially independent. Anyway, back to the prompt, I cannot remember the last time I had to handle any hand-me-downs but I still learned a thing from my parents. Never be selfish to not share something that might be useful and be appreciated by someone else. So, I always give away anything that I’ve bought and don’t use or never had used. The last time I went to Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage, I took some of the clothes that I have bought (my sister and mother also contributed with theirs) and don’t use or wouldn’t fit me) so we could give them to someone on the road. Most of these clothes were brand new or were hardly used. My mom asked a street stall woman who sold us King Coconut on the road in the rural village if she knew anyone who’d want some clothes. The pleasant middle-aged woman pleaded that she could use them and her children were in need of clothes. So, we gave the clothes to her and she greeted us with a warm smile that could have been simply translated to a sincere “Thank You”. I may never have used any hand-me-downs in my life and if I did, I’d at least be kind enough to be thankful for those items because who knows, someday I might not be able to afford everything brand new.

Leave a Reply

