Nightmare Job

Today’s daily prompt is, Nightmare Job :

In honor of Labor Day in North America, tell us what’s the one job you could never imagine yourself doing.

 

Kandy-TrafficActually, I cannot imagine myself doing many jobs out there. Some are too much or not enough of a challenge for me. God knows what I’d be if I wasn’t a teacher. Because, I can’t think of a second career other than teaching. Even though my retirement won’t happen for another two decades at least, I plan to retire with a good plan and have something that I love to do in my free time.

However, one job that I don’t think I’d ever do is being a bus driver. You do not want to be a bus driver in Colombo because at the end of the day, you’ll want to pull all your hair out and scream after driving in heavy traffic all day. Sooner or later it will end up driving you insane. The amount of patience you will need to drive in traffic and to deal with thousands of passengers every single day is ridiculous! I am very patient but I don’t think I’d be able to handle thousands of passengers and stupid drivers without wanting to drive myself to a cliff every day. Most other drivers hate bus drivers with a passion too. Because the buses block an entire area at a time and in traffic, it’s the worst nightmare for daily commuters who travel in their private vehicles. I do not want to be the centre of all hatred and curses. Most passengers don’t get along with the bus drivers either because the bus is always late or too slow. You can never make them happy. I, myself hate traveling by bus and would avoid it at all cost. So, you will have a job and a big vehicle but the bad news is nobody will like you. I don’t want to deal with that. Surprisingly though, you get paid a lot for bus drivers. Maybe that’s why they actually do it and that makes me sad because having a job doesn’t only mean getting paid. You need to be happy with what you do. So I’d still not be a bus driver even if I got paid a lot, because money wouldn’t be worth it for all that stress, pressure and tension the job entails you.

Hats off to the bus drivers for dealing and taking so much shit from everyone. Next time, I will try not to get mad at you for being 5 minutes late.

Happy Labor Day!  

 

4 thoughts on “Nightmare Job

    1. Haha. Usually the retirement age is at 55 in Sri Lanka. I am 26. 🙂 Thank you for the compliment! I definitely feel old for 26 though. I plan to retire at a reasonable age and engage in more charity and helping kids/women outside my work. 🙂 I also plan to do a lot of writing. 🙂 We shall see how it goes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

