No Pain, No Gain

Yesterday’s daily prompt was, Pains and Gains:

Do you agree with Jane Fonda’s favorite exercise motto, “no pain, no gain?” Is it impossible to attain greatness without considerable hardship?

I absolutely agree with the quote. There is no rewarding without some work. But, I’d like to add to the fact that pain is not necessarily physical, it can also be mental. Sometimes, you have to endure pain in either form to receive something better and/or beautiful. Most of the time, the pain is worth it. In my belief, everything that’s worth accomplishing comes at a price. But, if I knew the outcome isn’t worthy of deserving, I wouldn’t expose myself to pain—or the effort. Most of the great things that I have accomplished in my life were worth going through hard work or some pain. I wouldn’t have them any other way. The lessons I have learned in my life have caused me some kind of pain and without the pain, I wouldn’t of learned the lessons. Likewise, I had to endure some pain when it comes to love. What did I gain if I’m single now, you ask. I learned that love is being able to see beyond the pain that the love would cause you, for love is being strong and not giving up. But, I also learned that sometimes, the pain is not worth it if you’re the only one who is fighting for love. Therefore, I have had to let go of people when it was too painful to hold onto them. The pain made me stronger and wiser.

All in all, yes to Jane Fonda; no pain, no gain.

Leave a Reply

